IGNORED

Confused about DSD and DAC's

guilherme.j

Question

I'm new to digital audio and especially hi res audio, since I've spent most of the time in this hobby playing analog music.(vinyl, tapes).

But recently I was drawn to digital reproduction, since I heard DSD in a friend's house and it blew my mind.

I've purchased several DSD recordings and I've been studying a lot about the subject. However I don't currently own a DAC and I read that you need a DAC that is capable of either handling DSD natively or DoP. 

That being said, when I play a .dsf file on jriver from my notebook straight to my speakers, I am using my computer's DAC chip, right? So jriver will output the sound as DoP? Is that correct?

So, if I purchase a DAC that only handles DoP, would that be the same as playing the files from my computer without a DAC? (Not taking into account the differences in terms of sound quality).

In the other hand if I get a DAC that handles DSD, would I benefit from native DSD or it's just as good as DoP?

Thanks!

17 answers to this question

On 11/26/2018 at 8:33 PM, guilherme.j said:

I'm new to digital audio and especially hi res audio, since I've spent most of the time in this hobby playing analog music.(vinyl, tapes).

But recently I was drawn to digital reproduction, since I heard DSD in a friend's house and it blew my mind.

I've purchased several DSD recordings and I've been studying a lot about the subject. However I don't currently own a DAC and I read that you need a DAC that is capable of either handling DSD natively or DoP. 

That being said, when I play a .dsf file on jriver from my notebook straight to my speakers, I am using my computer's DAC chip, right? So jriver will output the sound as DoP? Is that correct?

So, if I purchase a DAC that only handles DoP, would that be the same as playing the files from my computer without a DAC? (Not taking into account the differences in terms of sound quality).