IGNORED

Is Primephonic still in business?

I have been subscribing to their service for several months but I am no longer able to log in with the iPhone app. I also tried to change my password but never got the automatic email reply. Also, they have not responded to a support ticket that opened 3 days ago. These are bad signs...

• 2 weeks later...
On 8/23/2018 at 2:53 PM, mansr said:

The download store is "temporarily" closed, and they are in the process of launching a "fully re-platformed streaming service." I agree, it doesn't look good.

Not sure what "fully re-platformed streaming" means.  Higher resolution audio streaming? 

Could mean that the site re-opens with streaming but no downloads store.  Puzzling.

For those who don’t remember Primephonic, here are two bits of info:

TAS interview one year ago stating that Primephonic was founded by Dirk Jan Vink and Simon Eder, respectively Managing Director and Director of Marketing and Communications for the classical label Pentatone.  Unclear whether Primephonic is independent or partly/wholly owned by Pentatone:

http://www.theabsolutesound.com/articles/primephonic/

Original discussion on this forum 4 years ago of the download-only Primephonic store:

https://www.computeraudiophile.com/forums/topic/21841-primephonic-another-source-for-digital-downloads/

HQPlayer (on 3.8 GHz 8-core i7 iMac 2020) > NAA (on 2012 Mac Mini i7) > RME ADI-2 v2 > Benchmark AHB-2 > Thiel 3.7

I had signed up to receive email notices from Primephonic. 

I was made an offer (no credit card required) on Sept 6 to preview the app for free for 14 days. It looks like it is only good to use on the desktop or laptop for now. After reading through the information, it also appears that there is no DLNA support, so the only way I would be able to listen on my main system would be through the desktop Airplay > ultraRendu shareport or my older Airport Express toslink connection > DAC.