IGNORED

Materials that absorb RF energy

jabbr

There seems to be some controversy about what seems to me are RF absorbing blocks that Sonore is marketing as "Dark Matter". @barrows has indicated that he doesn't wish to discuss competing products, and so I'm posting this on a new thread. I have no specific knowledge of the specific "Dark Matter" product but want to point out that RF absorbing materials shouldn't be controversial in the least. Several companies sell RF absorbing materials in various formats e.g.:

https://www.lairdtech.com/product-categories/rfmicrowave-absorbers-dielectrics

inclusing resins that can be molded.

I have no doubt that @marce has seen materials like this used as well.

Everyone should understand that these materials absorb RF waves/photons that are directed at the material. The materials do not "pull" the RF waves, nor shape their path. My reading of the OP on the Sonore subforum does not indicate any claims which go beyond what should be considered RF absorption. 

?‍♂️

Custom room treatments for headphone users.

we should distinguish intensive material properties from shapes that absorb, as well as the freq.s of interest...

there are a number of materials commercially available, including ferrite materials, rings embedded in a matrix, metametals, graphite particles in rubber,  carbonyl iron balls in epoxy, and lots more

36 minutes ago, wgscott said:

Water.

Is that why GPUs are water cooled? ?‍♂️

Then again there are one or two applications for which we'd prefer the electronics stay dry ... for all we know the "Dark Matter (tm)" cube is water filled ?‍♂️

32 minutes ago, wgscott said:

Water.

You beat me to it.  I was going to say Ralf had left off of his list, spruce trees after a gentle rain.  Those things with water droplets on them are like a ghz black hole absorber almost.