IGNORED

how do I build a fibre optic isolation network? [Can't I simply run an optic cable from the PC to the DAC?]

1274461379_FIBREOPTICETHERNETNETWORK1.thumb.jpg.25954b547982e2084bf0ee0b5a6772df.jpg

Hang on a minute! My PC has an optical output, and my DAC has an optical input, which I can connect with an optical cable! Is that not an isolating fibre optic ethernet network?

If there is a genuine noise isolation method, I want to know about it now! i.e. fibre optic network? or whatever it was?

Ok,

I'm happy with:

Dac

Amp

Speakers

I am not happy with source & noise!

I am definitely interested in building an isolated fibre optic front end system even though "PeterSt" doesn't seem to agree with that process?

I am prepared to ditch my current build (& current LPSU plans). However, I have no knowledge of fibre optic networks, so I am kinda hoping that members will not leave me high and dry? It starts with:

"OK - what you need to build a fibre optic isolation network is...."   OR at least links/URL's? ~ CAN'T WAIT! EXCITED!!

Quote jabbr: "with fibre optic network you don't need to worry about SMPS on your PC"   ...that's great!!

https://www.audiostream.com/content/electrically-isolate-your-networked-audio

IS THIS:

195210555_FIBREOPTICETHERNETNETWORK3.thumb.jpg.3efa942993582a6bdca0286d1c622492.jpg

NOT THE SAME AS:

9550336_FIBREOPTICETHERNETNETWORK2.thumb.jpg.c8672600149693ddc4e991c6debb491c.jpg

???

You need — an Ethernet switch that has at least 1 SFP port

You need — 2 SFP modules eg: 1000base-LX https://www.fs.com/products/12674.html

You need — an LC-LC fiberoptic cable that matches your SFP module — in this case single mode https://www.fs.com/products/40903.html

You need — a network access device that accepts a SFP module and outputs USB eg the ClearFog Base 

1. Connect your PC to switch with an Ethernet cable (RJ-45)

2. Plug SFP modules into switch and ClearFog 

3. Connect LC-LC fiber cable to SFP modules