IGNORED

Are DACs for Gamers? One with mobile 3.5mm o/p?

First of all... I am new to this. I recently started budgeting for my new gaming rig and someone mentioned going for a good soundcard or external DAC. I looked it up and it actually has advantages over the onboard sound. I am may be ...an amateur audio enthusiast (not audiophile yet, I think). I used to own an Audio Technica M20x. I loved it. I would love to invest into a good audio setup this time. I have just a few questions.

1) As a gamer, would having a DAC and a Studio Monitor headphones plugged into it give me the same sound impact as a say Logitech USB headset? For those SFX of that twinked shotgun or something crashing.

2) Can one find a DAC that has a 3.5mm out for mobile headset's that are Audio cum Mic on a single 3.5 plug? I can use a splitter but wouldn't that defeat the entire purpose of keeping things high quality? I ask only because I have a Sony MDR XB550AP that I sometimes use as well.

3) Noob question. I imagine a 24 bit/96 khz DAC is good enough for me. Is there a good sweet-spot bitrate I should start ripping my audio CDs into m4a of to use with such a setup? I currently use approx 256 kbps variable bitrate mp3/m4a. Because what my iTunes music had been.

4) Disregarding Antlion Modmic. Are there any good uni-directional clip on mic for voice chatting one can recommend? Under $20-30.

For gaming you might very well enjoy better audio. Better HPs for sure, and a good DAC would certainly be appreciated. One of the features with better DACs is increased dynamics and better bass. I somehow doubt you need "fidelity", but along with that comes other things as I mentioned. If you let people know your budget, you will get plenty of suggestions.

Forrest:

Win10 i9 9900KS/GTX1060 HQPlayer4>Win10 NAA

DSD>Pavel's DSC2.6>Bent Audio TAP>

Parasound JC1>"Naked" Quad ESL63/Tannoy PS350B subs<100Hz

3 minutes ago, 20hertz said: