IGNORED

Switched! A+ to Roon. Yeah

For the past year or longer I've been a dedicated Audirvana Pro user. I loved most everything about it. The few complaints I had were very minor. But I'm looking at going to a Ethernet/USB solution and they all seem really setup for Roon users. Not that I couldn't use other server setups - but I decided to give Roon a try.

OK, I now see why so many folks use this software. Plus, it overcomes every small issue I had with Audirvana. Key among them was their inability to mark Tidal files with any icon indicating the nature of the file format in Tidal. In A+ you had to play a song file to have any indication of whether or not it was CD, MQA, or some other version. I'd look at Tidal Albums and see two versions of the same title - one would be MQA and the other CD. But neither was marked as to version. It you wanted the MQA or even if you wanted the CD version you had to play a tune from each to find the one you wanted. You could see the format in Tidal because Masters have a "M" logo when on Tidal but not A+. A number of people requested this feature in A+ as much as 6 months ago, but it never happened.

So, not only do I have this feature from Roon, but so many more that I wasn't aware of. And, in only 2-days I've learned so much about my music and what else I might like.

I have a HD with 750 CD rips at 16/44 in ALAC format. It's great that my Tidal favorites and all 750 CDs are grouped together in Genres and organized for easier finding. Plus the SQ is very good as well.

All in all a Win-Win. I wish I had switched earlier.

Analog: Rega P8 > Ortofon Cadenza Black > Bob's Devices 20:1 SUT > EAR 834P Deluxe MM/MC tube phono stage

Digital: Shanling ET-3 CD Transport. Streaming via SoTM SMS200 Ultra Neo w/ SPS500 power supply > Chord Hugo TT2

Sound: PS Audio PowerPlant3 >  Naim Supernait3 > Harbeth P3ESR

Nice report - thanks!