IGNORED

Don't know where to start....

I have no experience whatsoever in building a Raspberry Pi based anything. But I already have a DAC, and most of my music is on CD and vinyl anyway. But I would like to set up a very high quality file based setup (dsd if possible) on a black box controlled by my ipad, rather than via a computer. There are no easy 'go-to primers that I can find. Where do I start, if I am to use my own existing DAC?

14 hours ago, vintageaxeman said:

I have no experience whatsoever in building a Raspberry Pi based anything. But I already have a DAC, and most of my music is on CD and vinyl anyway. But I would like to set up a very high quality file based setup (dsd if possible) on a black box controlled by my ipad, rather than via a computer. There are no easy 'go-to primers that I can find. Where do I start, if I am to use my own existing DAC?

Do you want a device that will rip your CDs (and maybe vinyl) as well as play downloaded files?  Or just play future downloads?

14 hours ago, vintageaxeman said:

Sounds like you're looking for a UPNP/DLNA server and streamer. You might get more specific suggestions if you tell us what DAC you have and how much you're willing to spend on new items.

11 hours ago, mansr said:

Sounds like you're looking for a UPNP/DLNA server and streamer. You might get more specific suggestions if you tell us what DAC you have and how much you're willing to spend on new items.

Indeed and posting in the Music Servers (as opposed to Networking, .. and Streaming) section would likely attract 'traditional' computer based music server responses.

There's also no mention of any (separate, networked or otherwise) device for the audio files to be stored, so may be an 'all in one' "black box" is what the OP is after.

We are far more united and have far more in common with each other than things that divide us.

-- Jo Cox

3 hours ago, Cebolla said: