IGNORED

How to get started with Digione Player?

I am completely new to RPi. Purchased the Digione Player (RPi B+, DietPi+Allo GUI, 8GB, alu-case), and it arrived yesterday. I am lost as to how to get it to do, what I want, which is:

Play AIFF files from a connected USB HDD, and control playback via WiFi using an iPhone.

I am not planning to connect the Digione Player via ethernet permanently. I assumed that I could connect via ethernet once, change the necassary settings for it to connect via WiFi from then on, change the necessary settings for it to retrieve the files from the HDD, and then just use iPhone to control playback.

I can’t get any of the above to work. Using ethernet I can access the web interface, but can’t find any relevant settings to change, not even sure where to look.

Given my target scenario (HDD playback/iPhone control), would anyone be willing to help with a simple guide for how to get this to work?

Thank you in advance.

Well, I have now come as far as to get it to play using MPD + O!MPD. Problem now is that I can't locate the USB HDD which is connected to DigiOne Player. I had to copy files from my MacBook to the Music folder (using samba server) instead of just using/playing the ones on the USB HDD. Where is the HDD supposed to show up? Allo GUI / MPD + O!MPD / Finder (Mac) / Other ? Isn't it possible to just point MPD + O!MPD to the specific folder on the HDD where my music is? 

• 2 weeks later...