IGNORED

Budget UPnP/DLNA Renderer Suggestion?

Hello,

I'm relatively new to all this but have committed to the Audirvana and full Mac/iOS ecosystem. Now that Audirvana supports UPnP/DLNA, I'm looking for a way to wirelessly stream from my Mac Mini (running A+) to a remote bedroom system. I currently do that through an Airport Express using Rogue Amoeba's Airfoil. I output from the AE via the optical out to a DAC. The problem with this of course is I can only stream up to CD quality. Is there an inexpensive renderer I could connect that would allow me to stream directly from Audirvana and bypass Airfoil? Perhaps a raspberry pi setup or something? I have another USB Dac I can use to connect to the renderer.

Thanks for any suggestions!

I’d consider a used Sonore microRendu.  They are or will be more available at a very reasonable price at the “marketplace” of this site because the microRendu has been overtaken by the ultraRendu. Those wanting the latest and best will be selling thei perfectly fantastic mRs (1.3 and 1.4).  I use both A+ and Lumin as player/controller.

The rub might be that you don’t have an Ethernet connection in the bedroom.  You can use the AE to Connect the mR to the network, but I’m not sure if that limits you to CD quality.  I’m skeptical a bedroom system at a budget is capable of an audible difference above 16/44.  But what do I know.

2 hours ago, rlaudio said:

Audirvana, I think, requires UPnP/DLNA, so anything that would stream that. I don't think USBridge/Dlgione are supported, but I could be wrong.

You can use diet pi or volumio with either device. But you don't get Open Home support,  so no native gapless playback... microRendu does have Open Home support

Regards,

Dave

Audio system

On 5/28/2018 at 5:45 PM, rlaudio said:

Thanks, that's a good suggestion, and probably the simplest. Unfortunately prices still seem to be a bit high for my budget. Perhaps they will come down as more come on the market...