IGNORED

New to CA.com - DSD not sounding better than Tidal

Hello! 

First, a list of my equipment: 

Desktop PC, from which I stream TIDAL HiFi

Marantz HD-DAC1, connected to pc via both USB and COAX via M2Tech HiFace 2

Hifiman HE-400 headphones 

JRiver 24 media player

I was not quite sure what to call my topic, but here's my description of my issue: 

I purchased an album (DSD 5.6Mhz) from NativeDSD.com in order to test the DSD-capabilities of my Marantz. I have set JRiver up accordingly with the following guide: 

https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/DSD (I am using DSD over PCM - it seems to be the only setting working) 

My issue is that I percieve TIDAL HiFi to be of a better sound quality than the DSD-files I have. This confuses me, as I had thought that DSD would sound a whole lot better than just about anything else.

Granted, I am new to the world of DSD, so perhaps there's something I've done wrong, or simply misunderstood. 

I look forward to your replies.

Welcome to the forum! 

The quality difference of file formats is IMHO not as big as many may believe believe. With Tidal, you’re starting with non compressed Flac, so a pretty decent starting point. Plus some DACs like DSD more than PCM, for others it’s the other way round. 

I see - that explains it, then. 

Can you say whether the percieved difference in quality between the different filetypes increases in general, when listening to higher-end equipment? Also, is there a way of "matching" the proper types of headphones, amps, DACS and so forth  to get a better sound quality overall, or is it completely individual?

I agree with @Musicophile

I would add that DSD files IME a play back softer than PCM and therefore whatever sounds louder is often preferred (as verified in psycho acoustic testing).

10 minutes ago, XCII said:

Can you say whether the percieved difference in quality between the different filetypes increases in general, when listening to higher-end equipment?