IGNORED

Roon Causing Constant NAS HDD Access

jtconte

Hi, I have not been on these forums in a long time. I have been working on our family room system, which is listed in my profile, and it is sounding very good given the restrictions.

I have been using JRiver MC for several years but wanted to try something else since I only use it for audio and it seems it is more for audio and video and other media.

I installed the Roon Core on a 2017 iMac (i7 4.2GHz, SSD, 40GB memory). My audio files reside on a QNAP TS-431P NAS. Installed Roon Bridge on the iMac mini which is in the family room system. Finally, installed Roon Remote on an iPad mini. All but the iPad mini are connected via Gb Ethernet. The NAS is located in my upstairs office while the family room is downstairs. The installations, library building and setup all went well and I was enjoying the Roon interface. A few days later I noticed that the NAS was being accessed every 10-15 seconds for no apparent reason. I could hear it while working in my office. No one was doing anything to access files on the NAS and Roon had not been used for 12-18 hours. I quit Roon on the iMac and about 30 seconds later the NAS access noise stopped. I went through some gyrations that, so far, indicate that Roon is causing this.

I posted about it in the Roon Community forum here: https://community.roonlabs.com/t/roon-causing-constant-nas-hdd-access/39937

A friend reminded me about this forum and so I was curious if anyone here has had this experience with Roon?

John

Mac mini, iFi Audio iDAC2, Marantz SR6009, Furman Elite-15 PFI, NHT Sub Two i, Monitor Audio SoundFrame 2 On-Walls

Cary, NC

Roon could be analyzing all your files for volume leveling and DR rating. This can take a day or two if have over 20000 files. I’m not at home but you can check this in the setup menu

Computer setup - Roon/Qobuz - PS Audio P5 Regenerator - HIFI Rose 250A Streamer - Emotiva XPA-2 Harbeth P3ESR XD - Rel  R-528 Sub