IGNORED

Raspberry Pi 3B+; anyone using it yet?

7 hours ago, mjb said:

It works fine with the latest version of Volumio, though I’ve no experience with Roon. Very nice board. 

Thanks for responding!  What intrigues me about it is the wifi 5G support, as I understand the earlier Pi2 version has compromised USB when physical Ethernet is used, definitely prefer the Digi+ coax to USB output feeding DAC.

Regards,

Dave

Audio system

1 hour ago, davide256 said:

What intrigues me about it is the wifi 5G support

Yes, this was the main reason I upgraded, and it works well. The Ethernet port is now gigabit, though restricted in thru-put to 300Mb/s. The new Arm processor is about 20% faster than the previous Pi, so the overall experience is noticeably “snappier”. I believe an i2c board is still the way to go as you’ve mentioned. Good luck!

1 hour ago, Skip Pack said:

Moode 4.1 was released a couple of days ago and includes and update to the recent stretch-lite kernal required by the 3Bplus (plus key dead). I installed it yesterday and listened last night. Works well, sounds quite good. 

Skip

+1

Upgraded from Moode 4.0 to 4.1 and my (subjective) impression is that it went up in sound quality. I'm totally aware this could be psycho-acoustic!

Got it today, up and running in 30 minutes with Roon/ Digi+. Also received some DC to micro USB adaptors, so now able to run this off an HDPlex. So far better than the Pi2 but the built in wifi is nothing to write home about, worked ok on the strongest 2.4G SSID but link wouldn't stay connected on its 5G counterpart, about 20 feet from wifi router with no wall/ metal in between. Time to order the Digione w/ case.

Regards,

Dave

Audio system

• 2 months later...
On 4/10/2018 at 8:51 PM, davide256 said:

No joy on the USB audio front with the Pi 3B+.  Compared the Hifiberry Digi+ coax vs ISO Regen-Schiit Eitr USB conversion to coax combo, USB  was brash, irritating vs a fairly enjoyable sound with the Digi+