IGNORED

Sonore questions

Hello,

im new to Sonore but not computer audio.  I’m contemplating a sonore micro or ultra rendu to replace my current custom built audio pc.  I have a few questions( sorry in advance if they are trivial).

My current setup as to provide a baseline:

music pc - Samsung SSD, Windows 10, fanless case, PPA usb card, Asus MB, HDPLEX 100w LPS, running fidelizer 8 and Jriver

I have a Uptone ISO Regen with Ultra LPS-1, Schiit Yggdrasil dac

i enjoy using Jriver and the JRemote for simplicity sake.  To continue using Jriver, I would utilize the the DLNA output mode on the sonore correct?  Regardless of using this or Roon software for example still requires the use of a pc right?  The jriver or roon needs to run off a real PC to function correct?  So either way I need to utilize my existing audio pc?  I do have a synology NAS but it seems this route is more complicated.

Will using the Sonore running one of the softwares still outperform my existing pc?  The pc no longer feeds the dac but rather the Sonore which accounts for the (theoretical) sonic improvement?

ok last question...I think;).  With above mentioned equipment (Uptone stuff and Schiit Yggy), do I need the UltraRendu or will the Micro be sufficient?

thanks!

brandon

Your understanding of how it works is correct. You'll need your existing PC as a  server for Jriver or some other program. You could also use the NAS as the server.

Most people feel this kind of setup outperforms a PC direct to DAC setup.

Whether you need an mR or a uR is hard to say. Most think the uR is better,  but you have to decide if you want to spend more.

I tend to get the best I can afford, but if you think the uR isn't your ultimate source, maybe stick with the mR for now and spend money on an even better source than the uR  later.

Main listening (small home office):