IGNORED

New To HD Audio -Need Help With Downloads Please

Hi Folks

After many (too many) years of of using crap to mediocre PC speakers and systems, I'm just getting into listening to QUALITY music reproduction.  What can I say.... WOW!

I'm looking for places to find high quality downloads.  I've had a good look at HDTracks, but there isn't really a vast amount to choose from:-(

I don't really care its free or to buy, but any pointers most welcome;-)

Thanks

Here is a great consolidator site:

http://www.findhdmusic.com/

Subscribe to their daily emails or alerts.  And always choose NativeDSD (just kidding, obvious bias plug here  :)  )

P.S.  Also check your or a friends collection of BluRays, DVDs, SACDs or DVD-Audio discs.  They can easily be ripped to hirez files.

4 hours ago, Dougal said:

I'm looking for places to find high quality downloads.  I've had a good look at HDTracks, but there isn't really a vast amount to choose from:-(

I don't really care its free or to buy, but any pointers most welcome;-)

Thanks

Hi Dougal,

http://www.findhdmusic.com/ is a good place to start a research for sure, but not all major stores are listed there and the selection for a specific album and the countries where it is available is very often not complete.

To give you more specific tips, it would be good to know, in which country you are living and the genres you prefer. Unfortunately, the world of music download in better quality is anything else than globalized, there are regional restrictions for available albums at all stores. In North America are usually other multi genre download stores available than in Europe, except HDtracks and 7Digital.com.

What is your definition of HD or high quality download? For streaming portals, 16/44.1 (CD quality) is already HD or high quality, sometimes it is a circumlocution for MQA. Funny enough, there are much more options for HiRes downloads (24/44.1 or better resolutions) than for CD quality.