IGNORED

Wiring a new house -- copper or fiber?

I’ve seen it mentioned here and elsewhere that fiber optic cable is cheap these days.  We’re in the planning stage of a new house build.  I was going to have the new house wired with CAT 6, but now wonder if I should use fiber, if the cost differential isn’t substantial.  Fiber has a lot of benefits over copper, not the least of which, I believe, is the rejection of RF and electrical interference such as the problem found with running low voltage wires too close to high voltage cables.

At any rate, I’m a complete newbie when it comes to fiber.  Has anyone here wired their house with fiber, or can suggest a place for me to start researching same.  I have questions like what type of bulk cable would be needed for a residential application.  What type of device would one need to switch at the outlet from fiber to copper, so my PC’s, Apple TV, DVD Players etc., could accept the signal input?  Do these fiber-to-copper switching devices have their own power (wall wart) needs?  Having devices spread around the house at each outlet to convert the fiber signal to something legacy devices could use, sounds like added problems and cost.  Is that true?  If so, is it not a big deal or not?

If fiber is indeed comparable in price to copper, as you can tell, I’m flying blind when it comes to the pluses and minuses of stringing fiber in a residential application.  What type/specs of fiber would be recommended.  Where might I source bulk fiber?  As with copper, I assume that some manufacturers of fiber would produce a better, more reliable product than others.  Is that true?  What might the good manufacturers be?  Any education or recommendation that you could supply regarding the ins and outs of wiring a house with fiber would be appreciated.

-Mike

Run copper.  You could consider putting one fiber run along side copper to your audio room.  If you are were worried about RF it's the only run that would matter.