IGNORED

Where to start?

Hello,

I am very new to Audiophile but it's something I have always been interested in. One of my friends introduced me to Schiit Audio and I like his setup a lot. I think I am going to get some similar equipment but he mainly uses headphones and I would really like the option to use speakers as well. My question is where would be a good place to start research for desktop speakers.

I currently have a pair of floor standing Focals (these were given to me) they are very nice but I think I want something different as they aren't very loud. I don't know which model they are but I can probably find out somewhere on them and it may be my receiver that is causing my issue(also given to me I believe it is a Denon).

so far I am looking at the following from Schiit audio

Gungnir Multibit 

Freya Pre-amp

Vidar amp 

Loud can mean so many things. Any speaker can be loud if it has an amp with enough wattage. I suspect what you are actually experiencing is collapsed dynamic range = boring. A sluggish power amp, poor source solution quality, choked off preamp, these can all contribute to a system with anemic transient response. So I'd suggest you "focus" on improved electronics. Schitt has a good reputation for DAC's but not what I'd look for on the analog pre/ main amp side. Do expect to spend about $2K for a quality integrated amp, more for separates

Regards,

Dave

Audio system

How about this:

https://emotiva.com/products/amplifiers/300

More power than the Vidar.  $399. 

https://emotiva.com/products/dacs/electronics/dacs/stealth-dc-1

Preamp/DAC/Headphone amp $499. 

Keep your Focals which this should work well on or get other speakers.

If you just especially want desktop speakers I might suggest:

https://www.amazon.com/JBL-LSR305-Professional-Studio-Monitor/dp/B00F1DEI8G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1501125201&sr=8-1&keywords=jbl+lsr305

$282 per pair, and they are powered.  Combine with the Stealth DAC above and you'll have a nice system.