IGNORED

Raspberry pi 3 as a DLNA server w microRendu?

Hello

I'm a newb to the forum (at least as a poster) and not so much to computer and computer audio.

I've been enjoying music out of my noisy/unstable/old/bulky macbook pro circa 2010 and wanted to build/buy a dedicated, always on, computer for playback. I don't do a lot of fancy stuff. Mostly MP3s and FLAC at 16/44.1 to a few 24/192 as I am still not able to hear the difference in a blind test with my system (stereo or headphones).

As I want to start with a cost effective solution I've been toying around with the idea of a pi3. It's actually on its way now.

Question is: if i want to improve SQ of the pi, can I set up the pi3 as a network streamer and feed a MicroRendu? Has anyone tried it?

By the way my system is:

1- STEREO: macbook pro running Fidelia > Rotel RDD06 USB DAC > Roksan m2 integrated > B&W CM1

2- headphone: whatever digital source (mostly Can Opener on iphone6) > oppo HA-2 > Master and Dynamic MH-40.

Thanks!!!

Sent from my iPhone using Computer Audiophile

I use a Pi2 with a 2TB HDD attached. I run Max2Play on the Pi with LMS enabled. I use Squeezelite on the mR, with Squeezepad (awesome app by the way) on my iPad. All of this works absolutely flawlessly for me. The Pi and HDD sits in a cupboard in another room, all connected to my router with CAT 6a cable.

A good, reliable and very cost effective solution imo...

I use a Pi2 with a 2TB HDD attached. I run Max2Play on the Pi with LMS enabled. I use Squeezelite on the mR, with Squeezepad (awesome app by the way) on my iPad. All of this works absolutely flawlessly for me. The Pi and HDD sits in a cupboard in another room, all connected to my router with CAT 6a cable.

A good, reliable and very cost effective solution imo...

Cool. This is exactly the way I was thinking.