IGNORED

From my PC to a Behringer DEQ2496

Hello everyone!

This is my first time here! I'm writing from Chile, at the end of South America.

I need to replace my very old receiver, it just died, and to fix it is ridiculous expensive for an old piece of audio equipment.

My first idea was to buy a Behringer A500 connected to my computer via one Behringer UCA202, but later I founded the Behringer DEQ2496 that have a good DAC inside based on AKM chip plus room correction, EQ, and others functions that probably I will never use.

Now my problem is how to connect my PC Window 7, 64 bits with PCIe slots and USB ports with the DEQ2496 that have AES/EBU and Toslink ports at reasonable cheap cost. The A500 cost here $360, the DEQ2496 $520 and the UCA202 $50. The problem with the UCA202 is the bitrate, just 16/44.

I'm looking for a converter or sound card PCIe with a price similar to the UCA202 that have a bitrate at least 24/96 but with a price target lower than $100 with AES/EBU or Toslink ports compatible with the DEQ2496. I founded some USB to Toslink converters, but no idea if those cheap converters have a reasonable good sound quality. I don't have money to make experiments.

Any suggestion will be welcome!

A Peachtree X-1; Musical Fidelity V-Link 192 or M2Tech HiFace. Or a sound card such as ESi Juli@ or M-Audio 192.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

The Hiface won't work because it's coax. The DEQ doesn't take coax as you know. Musical Fidelity made a 24/96 converter called just the V-Link. I'm not sure if that has Toslink, but it very likely does as their dacs have it. If you can find one of them used you'd be in good shape.