IGNORED

Computer Audio Design OSX Audio Optimization Script

I have done a lot of work on optimizing Windows for audio over the last year and I decided to do the same for OSX. My background is more Windows based so I was lucky enough to find someone who knows a massive amount about Mac software to help me out.

We manufacture DACs and it is important that we can optimize our dealers and customers computers quickly and easily. One of the biggest issues I have is the perceived complexity of computer audio and anything that we can do to make it simpler and sound better is a good thing for the industry.

I am not a Mac expert! It would be helpful to have others take a look at what we have done and offer suggestions. I have no doubt there are additional things that can be done and maybe we have done some things that we shouldn't have!

If you want to make your Mac sound better I am a big believer in the first place to start is with good playback software. There are many excellent options for the Mac user and I recommend to start there. There are also many sites out there with some great ideas on other things to do to make your Mac sound better. This script has gone to extremes to stop Daemons (background processes) from starting up and running. This script will stop most applications from running that are not related to audio. So if you use your Mac for things other than audio this script is probably not for you.

The script was written with these personal requirements in mind:

· Computer used for nothing else but audio

· Be able to use iTunes

· Be able to control iTunes using an iPad and iTunes Remote

· Be able to use third party playback software such as Audirvana

· Ethernet connection for wifi

· A "return to original settings" script

You can view and modify the scripts by opening them in TextEdit.

These scripts are free and open source.