IGNORED

Civility

wdw

We just witnessed an innocent thread posted from an exuberant music lover who simply wanted to let us in on the skinny, some new cables, but the thread had to be shut done...well I want this gentleman to continue to post

To crudely paraphrase a great jazz lyric ....

Why anyone wants to step on the seams of anyone's dreams, is over my head....

WDW

Chis decided to close a recent "yet another cable thread". Those of us who posted to the thread can't help but wonder if it was our post that "put it over the edge". It would be easy to take the closure personally. As a former moderator of a huge RV related forum, I have some experience with just how thankless the job of moderator can be.

I would say that for an area of interest that is so deeply steeped in "opinion", this place is remarkably civil. No doubt that is due in no small part to the excellent moderation. Thanks Chris.

That said, I found myself surprised that this particular thread got closed when it it did. Seems to have touched a nerve for you Chris. While I fully support your decision to close it...I would invite some more explanation of what moved you to close it when you did. If those of us who post the most often know what crosses the line for you we can do our best to avoid pushing it too far.

For me, a thread "jumps the shark" when it looses sight of the topic and moves over into "ad hominem" "arguments" that call into question the sanity or intelligence of the OP or another poster...rather than discussing the product or its company.

What was the "last straw" for you on this one?

New guy here - old guy elsewhere...Mac Mini - BitPerfect - USB - Schiit Bifrost DAC - shit cable - Musical Fidelity A3.5 - home-brew speakers designed to prioritize phase and time response (Accuton ceramic dome drivers and first-order crossovers) and a very cheaply but well corrected room...old head, old ears, conventionally connected to an old brain with outdated software.