gakaudio

Help putting together a music server

Rate this topic

5 posts in this topic

Hello, my name is Garth and I am trying to put together a dedicated music server. I won’t be putting it together personally but purchasing it assembled. I intend to model it off of the CAPS v2.0 but want to do it as affordably as possible. I found a semi assembled machine on amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Dual-Core-Embedded-NF96FL-525-LF-Motherboard-AD3RTLANG/dp/tech-data/B0061F5MPG/ref=de_a_smtd

I am a novice about the inside of computers and how to build it. What I’d like to know is if a machine like the one I’ve linked can have things added to it to make it a CAPS equivalent. Such as, can the box that this computer is in, accommodate the SOtM-tx usb card. I don’t plan to put it in right away but I would like the option to be able to include it as funds come available. In addition, do people see any issues with the computer that I’ve selected? Keep in mind that I will do some configuring like added memory and a SSD and such. Thanks for any advice, Garth

do people see any issues with the computer that I’ve selected?

In order to add the SoTM USB card, the mainboard will need a PCI slot, which this one seems to lack. Why not go for a Mac mini instead, it will need less tweaking to make a good server. Or save up for a ready-built CAPS v2.

In order to add the SoTM USB card, the mainboard will need a PCI slot, which this one seems to lack. Why not go for a Mac mini instead, it will need less tweaking to make a good server. Or save up for a ready-built CAPS v2.

Thanks for the reply. I think this is the same motherboard that is recommended in the CAPS v2.0 build article so I think that it does have a PCI slot. However, I just saw a reply to me over on audiocircle and I was informed that there is not sufficient room on the back of the computer to accomidate the SOtM-tx usb card

Hi Stuarth,