IGNORED

another shot at double-blind testing

I’m a long-time reader of CA, and I’ve been thinking about double-blind testing since I first read some of the truly bewildering long threads here on the subject. As my first real post here I would like to have another crack at it; it keeps coming up. Most of what’s said in favor of DBT seems to me quite naïve, though I may be missing something. (I’m a philosophy professor with an interest in experimental methodology, especially in psychology and psychiatry; I say that not to try to establish credibility (it doesn’t) but just to indicate where I’m coming from.)

(1) DBT is often said to be the mark of a scientific approach. In fact, there are only very special cases in science where it’s applicable at all, even in medical science. Consider the question whether it’s better to treat a psychiatric illness in a hospital or at home. Is there any way you’re going to be able to design a DBT here? The drug case, where you can have a placebo that seems just like the test drug, is quite special. The very mechanics of setting up a DBT in audio create an environment that is quite different to the usual listening context. So there aren’t going to be any obvious implications of the DBT for what’s discernible in the usual listening context.