Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 789101112 LastLast
Results 251 to 275 of 280
  1. #251
    Mastiff Level Member Paul.Raulerson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sgr A*
    Posts
    8,242
    Blog Entries
    4
    Huh - I have never heard of RAM sticks rated faster than the minimum being an issue, so long as everything else was the same. (Voltage, pins, etc.)
    I run high speed DDR3 in my old Macbook without any issues.

    -Paul


    Quote Originally Posted by Marino Marco View Post
    Figured my problem was the brand new 4gb RAM sticks I've installed recently. It was 1333mhz DDR3 but my mid 2009 13 inch macbook pro only supported 1067 mhz sticks.

    Had to bootcamp and install a program called Thaiphoon Burner. In there I could edit my RAM speeds.

    Problem solved.
    1. Main Music: AIFF Library -> Mac Mini i5 (Late 2012) -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC 19 -> Kimber USB -> iFi USB Power -> iFi Gemini -?> iFi DSD Nano -> Kimber PJB -> Parasound 2200 Preamp -> Kimber PJB -> Outlaw Audio M2200 Monoblocks -> Nodost Flatline MKII Speaker cables -> Large Advents
    2. Bedroom -> Macbook Pro -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC19 -> Audioquest Cinnamon USB -> Wavelength Proton> NAD BEE326 -> Nordost Flatline MKII -> Baby Advents
    3. Office -> Experimental System, changes when I want it to.



  2. #252
    Sophomore Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    101
    Blog Entries
    2
    Yeah, I know its weird, but apparently my mac has incompactibility issues with Corsair or something.

  3. #253
    Senior Member REShaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,134
    You decide, and I have already decided that since I upgraded to 10.8.1, the restart problem I experienced with before ML when shutting down that plagued me (and others) interstitially, has NOT occurred once since upgrading. Not need to repeat what I just wrote. I shutdown ML on my Mac Mini and violá, the Mac Mini actually shuts down and doesn't make me go through the same routine until something happens out of my control that allows MyMacMini to shut down. That alone makes me grateful though there's more to be desired. Honestly, I do not know what the hoopla is about ML. Personally, I am grateful, alone, for that improvement. Especially when I am tired and want to go to bed.Zzzzzzzz.
    Best,
    Richard
    Software: OS X Mavericks, iTunes, Amarra Symphony & iRC, Audirvana Plus+, BitPerfect & DSD Master, Decibel, Fidelia, Pure Music; Computer: Mac Mini (2011, 2.7 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo i7, 16GB, int. SSD 256GB); Video: 27" Cinema Thunderbolt Display; Storage: Promise Pegasus 12TB R6 Raid 5 & 8TB R4 Raid 5; Digital: Oppo BDP-95; Wyred 4 Sound DAC-2 DSDse & Femto Grade Clock Mod; Atlona AT-HD577; Preamplification: Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2; Amplification: W4S SX1000 (x2); Bryston 10B Sub LR 50Hz, 24dB/Octave/2-way active crossover; Speakers: KEF Reference 107; JL Audio F112 x 2 set to mono on Sound Anchor stands; KEF X300A on Sound Anchor stands; Cables: Light Harmonic LightSpeed USB (standard); Synergistic Research: Active SE USB, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference & Precision Reference XLR ICs, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference speaker cables, Tesla LE Subwoofer 2 cables, Tranqility Base, QLS9 & T2 power cable; Black Cat Veloce 75 ohm; DH Lab Silver HDMI 1.4; W4S P1 Ultra Power cables; DH Labs Power Plus AC Cable; Shunyata Venom 3. Pioneer BDR-208.

  4. #254
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by REShaman View Post
    You decide, and I have already decided that since I upgraded to 10.8.1, the restart problem I experienced with before ML when shutting down that plagued me (and others) interstitially, has NOT occurred once since upgrading. Not need to repeat what I just wrote. I shutdown ML on my Mac Mini and violá, the Mac Mini actually shuts down and doesn't make me go through the same routine until something happens out of my control that allows MyMacMini to shut down. That alone makes me grateful though there's more to be desired. Honestly, I do not know what the hoopla is about ML. Personally, I am grateful, alone, for that improvement. Especially when I am tired and want to go to bed.Zzzzzzzz.
    Best,
    Richard
    Sings: ...."I had a little drink about an hour ago, and it's gone straight to my head".

    sorry...I'm excited about watching Jaws on blu-ray this weekend. :-D

  5. #255
    Senior Member REShaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,134
    Experienced another "restart" when shutting down MMM (my Mac Mini) last night. First one since 10.8.1 arrived. Sent a report when prompted. Preferred to have this problem remedied sooner than later, pretty please (just in case).
    Best,
    Richard
    Software: OS X Mavericks, iTunes, Amarra Symphony & iRC, Audirvana Plus+, BitPerfect & DSD Master, Decibel, Fidelia, Pure Music; Computer: Mac Mini (2011, 2.7 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo i7, 16GB, int. SSD 256GB); Video: 27" Cinema Thunderbolt Display; Storage: Promise Pegasus 12TB R6 Raid 5 & 8TB R4 Raid 5; Digital: Oppo BDP-95; Wyred 4 Sound DAC-2 DSDse & Femto Grade Clock Mod; Atlona AT-HD577; Preamplification: Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2; Amplification: W4S SX1000 (x2); Bryston 10B Sub LR 50Hz, 24dB/Octave/2-way active crossover; Speakers: KEF Reference 107; JL Audio F112 x 2 set to mono on Sound Anchor stands; KEF X300A on Sound Anchor stands; Cables: Light Harmonic LightSpeed USB (standard); Synergistic Research: Active SE USB, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference & Precision Reference XLR ICs, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference speaker cables, Tesla LE Subwoofer 2 cables, Tranqility Base, QLS9 & T2 power cable; Black Cat Veloce 75 ohm; DH Lab Silver HDMI 1.4; W4S P1 Ultra Power cables; DH Labs Power Plus AC Cable; Shunyata Venom 3. Pioneer BDR-208.

  6. #256
    Senior Member REShaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,134
    Another "restart" last night when shutting down. After 10.8.1 was published, no problems until two nights ago. Now back to back and I am doing nothing different, except updated my SuperDuper backup software to the latest edition. I'll stop posting about this until Apple fixes this unwanted result or am I in a very small group of one?
    Best,
    Richard
    Software: OS X Mavericks, iTunes, Amarra Symphony & iRC, Audirvana Plus+, BitPerfect & DSD Master, Decibel, Fidelia, Pure Music; Computer: Mac Mini (2011, 2.7 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo i7, 16GB, int. SSD 256GB); Video: 27" Cinema Thunderbolt Display; Storage: Promise Pegasus 12TB R6 Raid 5 & 8TB R4 Raid 5; Digital: Oppo BDP-95; Wyred 4 Sound DAC-2 DSDse & Femto Grade Clock Mod; Atlona AT-HD577; Preamplification: Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2; Amplification: W4S SX1000 (x2); Bryston 10B Sub LR 50Hz, 24dB/Octave/2-way active crossover; Speakers: KEF Reference 107; JL Audio F112 x 2 set to mono on Sound Anchor stands; KEF X300A on Sound Anchor stands; Cables: Light Harmonic LightSpeed USB (standard); Synergistic Research: Active SE USB, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference & Precision Reference XLR ICs, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference speaker cables, Tesla LE Subwoofer 2 cables, Tranqility Base, QLS9 & T2 power cable; Black Cat Veloce 75 ohm; DH Lab Silver HDMI 1.4; W4S P1 Ultra Power cables; DH Labs Power Plus AC Cable; Shunyata Venom 3. Pioneer BDR-208.

  7. #257
    Junior Member bleedink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, CA USA
    Posts
    845
    Quote Originally Posted by REShaman View Post
    Another "restart" last night when shutting down. After 10.8.1 was published, no problems until two nights ago. Now back to back and I am doing nothing different, except updated my SuperDuper backup software to the latest edition. I'll stop posting about this until Apple fixes this unwanted result or am I in a very small group of one?
    Best,
    Richard
    Most of my problems seem to have cleared up. There are still a few bugs IMHO that weren't addressed. My own issues seem to revolve around the start up shutdown routine, however. I still have recovered files show up in the trash from time to time and audio midi will not remember my settings (I have it hooked up to an AVR). It always defaults to the laptops own sound system and ignores any previous preferences. I don't think you are the only one. Your problem may be exceptional but there are bug reports all over the ole internet.
    Macbook Pro 2010->DLNA/UPNP fed by Drobo->Oppo BDP-93->Yamaha RXV2065 ->Panasonic GT25 -> 5.0 system Bowers & Wilkins 683 towers, 685 surrounds, HTM61 center ->Mostly SPDIF, or Analog out. Some HDMI depending on source[br]Selling Art Is Tying Your Ego To A Leash And Walking It Like A DoG[br]

  8. #258
    Senior Member REShaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,134
    Quote Originally Posted by bleedink View Post
    Most of my problems seem to have cleared up. There are still a few bugs IMHO that weren't addressed. My own issues seem to revolve around the start up shutdown routine, however. I still have recovered files show up in the trash from time to time and audio midi will not remember my settings (I have it hooked up to an AVR). It always defaults to the laptops own sound system and ignores any previous preferences. I don't think you are the only one. Your problem may be exceptional but there are bug reports all over the ole internet.
    Thank you for widening my perspective on what others apart from me are contending with. I was hoping the reports that I choose to send would have found fertile ground. Perhaps there is a triage for severity and my annoying but not critical restart instead of shutdown is not as high on their priority list as I would want. No ideas about your AMS problem or I would have offered something useful. Sometimes, less is more or nothing useful is useful in itself as good intentions are highly overrated.

    Oh, as you indicated connected to AVR, what comes to mind though it is specific to HDMI (supposedly improved with 1.4) loss of handshake. It is possible your problem is in that category where a type of loss of handshake thus defaulting to your laptop? Anything's possible. Meant well. Oops. : ).

    Hope you find a resolution soon.

    Best,
    Richard
    Software: OS X Mavericks, iTunes, Amarra Symphony & iRC, Audirvana Plus+, BitPerfect & DSD Master, Decibel, Fidelia, Pure Music; Computer: Mac Mini (2011, 2.7 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo i7, 16GB, int. SSD 256GB); Video: 27" Cinema Thunderbolt Display; Storage: Promise Pegasus 12TB R6 Raid 5 & 8TB R4 Raid 5; Digital: Oppo BDP-95; Wyred 4 Sound DAC-2 DSDse & Femto Grade Clock Mod; Atlona AT-HD577; Preamplification: Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2; Amplification: W4S SX1000 (x2); Bryston 10B Sub LR 50Hz, 24dB/Octave/2-way active crossover; Speakers: KEF Reference 107; JL Audio F112 x 2 set to mono on Sound Anchor stands; KEF X300A on Sound Anchor stands; Cables: Light Harmonic LightSpeed USB (standard); Synergistic Research: Active SE USB, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference & Precision Reference XLR ICs, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference speaker cables, Tesla LE Subwoofer 2 cables, Tranqility Base, QLS9 & T2 power cable; Black Cat Veloce 75 ohm; DH Lab Silver HDMI 1.4; W4S P1 Ultra Power cables; DH Labs Power Plus AC Cable; Shunyata Venom 3. Pioneer BDR-208.

  9. #259
    Junior Member bleedink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, CA USA
    Posts
    845
    Quote Originally Posted by REShaman View Post
    Thank you for widening my perspective on what others apart from me are contending with. I was hoping the reports that I choose to send would have found fertile ground. Perhaps there is a triage for severity and my annoying but not critical restart instead of shutdown is not as high on their priority list as I would want. No ideas about your AMS problem or I would have offered something useful. Sometimes, less is more or nothing useful is useful in itself as good intentions are highly overrated.

    Oh, as you indicated connected to AVR, what comes to mind though it is specific to HDMI (supposedly improved with 1.4) loss of handshake. It is possible your problem is in that category where a type of loss of handshake thus defaulting to your laptop? Anything's possible. Meant well. Oops. : ).

    Hope you find a resolution soon.

    Best,
    Richard
    You are exactly right. It is an HDMI handshaking issue that seems to be unique to the OS. Previous versions remembered my settings. Basically it (the OS personified) defaults to the laptops own system when it gets confused at boot. Unfortunately the only remedy, since the options get greyed out when it is on default audio, is to delete preference files, reboot, and hope that the handshake goes ok on boot. Sometimes it does. Sometimes it takes several times and much plist deleting before it gets to normal. Then a reboot might cause it to revert back! Thankfully I usually use the mac to pull music from an NAS to feed to an Oppo. So these settings are really only useful if I want to stream SACDs with foobar or something. It's a big pain in the boohoo when it happens though.
    Macbook Pro 2010->DLNA/UPNP fed by Drobo->Oppo BDP-93->Yamaha RXV2065 ->Panasonic GT25 -> 5.0 system Bowers & Wilkins 683 towers, 685 surrounds, HTM61 center ->Mostly SPDIF, or Analog out. Some HDMI depending on source[br]Selling Art Is Tying Your Ego To A Leash And Walking It Like A DoG[br]

  10. #260
    Senior Member REShaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,134
    Quote Originally Posted by bleedink View Post
    You are exactly right. It is an HDMI handshaking issue that seems to be unique to the OS. Previous versions remembered my settings. Basically it (the OS personified) defaults to the laptops own system when it gets confused at boot. Unfortunately the only remedy, since the options get greyed out when it is on default audio, is to delete preference files, reboot, and hope that the handshake goes ok on boot. Sometimes it does. Sometimes it takes several times and much plist deleting before it gets to normal. Then a reboot might cause it to revert back! Thankfully I usually use the mac to pull music from an NAS to feed to an Oppo. So these settings are really only useful if I want to stream SACDs with foobar or something. It's a big pain in the boohoo when it happens though.
    Yikes! I won't state the obvious (and) that is required of you to make it happen as you would want. Things are relative. Here I am boo-hooing about a stinkn' restart problem.

    Wonder what are the resources available to you to generate possible solutions.

    This is not helpful to you, but one of the resolutions I made when I decided to confine film (Blu-ray/DVD-SD/Blu-ray Audio etc) and m.ch sound to HT system was to never introduce even the possibility of handshake to computer audio in any form. Hence my system for non-computer audio files which I am not able to convert (i.e., DSD/SHM-SACD) is only connected from Oppo BDP-95 to Atlona HD577 by HDMI and out the HD577 by BNC coax to W4S Dac2. No more handshake problems, thank you Lord! And now I no longer suffer the same trials and tribulations. I love my Oppos BDP 95/93/83SE. I use to love my Yamaha DSP A1 (no HDMI and excellent music processing) until it died a few years ago. Now it's Marantz AV 7005 to their amps (3 stereo amps/1 5ch amp) /BDP-93 to Sony HD LCD. No pain or suffering. But none of this helps you to improve your situation.

    Good fortune,
    Richard
    Software: OS X Mavericks, iTunes, Amarra Symphony & iRC, Audirvana Plus+, BitPerfect & DSD Master, Decibel, Fidelia, Pure Music; Computer: Mac Mini (2011, 2.7 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo i7, 16GB, int. SSD 256GB); Video: 27" Cinema Thunderbolt Display; Storage: Promise Pegasus 12TB R6 Raid 5 & 8TB R4 Raid 5; Digital: Oppo BDP-95; Wyred 4 Sound DAC-2 DSDse & Femto Grade Clock Mod; Atlona AT-HD577; Preamplification: Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2; Amplification: W4S SX1000 (x2); Bryston 10B Sub LR 50Hz, 24dB/Octave/2-way active crossover; Speakers: KEF Reference 107; JL Audio F112 x 2 set to mono on Sound Anchor stands; KEF X300A on Sound Anchor stands; Cables: Light Harmonic LightSpeed USB (standard); Synergistic Research: Active SE USB, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference & Precision Reference XLR ICs, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference speaker cables, Tesla LE Subwoofer 2 cables, Tranqility Base, QLS9 & T2 power cable; Black Cat Veloce 75 ohm; DH Lab Silver HDMI 1.4; W4S P1 Ultra Power cables; DH Labs Power Plus AC Cable; Shunyata Venom 3. Pioneer BDR-208.

  11. #261

    Worth upgrading?

    Hi Guys, perhaps one or some of you can help. I started reading this thread looking to find out if there are any audio improvements found in Mountain Lion. I could not find many indications of audio quality. I am currently running a headless Mac Mini, iTunes, into a Naim DAC and system. I decided to skip Lion so is it worth moving from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion?

  12. #262
    curious fool odelay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by Spartacus View Post
    ....I decided to skip Lion so is it worth moving from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion?
    I know some here on CA have said they preferred Snow Leopard.

    In my rig, dynamics and resolution was better in Mountain Lion (than both Snow Leopard and Lion). I A/B'd two tracks. I didn't hear an obvious difference listening to Ottmar Liebert (One Guitar, 24/96), but heard it immediately when playing Mahler's 8th (NY Philharmonic, HDTracks, 24/96).

    My friend is comparing Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion from a bootable external drive (and preferred ML). If you know someone with ML, I suggest you try testing it that way. I've no regrets about moving to ML.
    Mac mini (10.9, A+) -> Burson Conductor -> S.A.T. Infinity monoblocks -> Gallo Stradas + TR-3 sub

  13. #263
    For me, Mountain Lion sounds a slight bit better than Lion (could easily be a non-existant 'better'). It is certainly more reliable and faster--network processes are much improved.
    I haven't compared it the SL.
    MacMini, BitPerfection(beta), Audiophilleo, DAC.

    Greg

  14. #264
    Junior Member bleedink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, CA USA
    Posts
    845
    I just found that my MBP from 2010 is maxed out on RAM at 8GB. Mountain Lion seems to eat more RAM than any other OS I've used. It is not uncommon for just a browser to be open or such and have it siphon almost an entire 8GB. I was thinking with this OS it might just be a good idea to go up to 16GB. Then I found out that the actual CPU is limited to 8GB. I thought once the chips were 64 bit they opened the memory up quite a bit. I was very excited to be able to use more than 4 but less than 2 years after purchase I am thinking that 8GB might soon be very limiting. Does anyone know if there are hacks or something to add more RAM? I'm sort of blown away that the biggest and best machine they had at the time would max out at 8. It's not that old!
    Macbook Pro 2010->DLNA/UPNP fed by Drobo->Oppo BDP-93->Yamaha RXV2065 ->Panasonic GT25 -> 5.0 system Bowers & Wilkins 683 towers, 685 surrounds, HTM61 center ->Mostly SPDIF, or Analog out. Some HDMI depending on source[br]Selling Art Is Tying Your Ego To A Leash And Walking It Like A DoG[br]

  15. #265
    Trouble maker... Audio_ELF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Middle Earth... sorry mean Middle of England.
    Posts
    8,439
    Quote Originally Posted by bleedink View Post
    I just found that my MBP from 2010 is maxed out on RAM at 8GB. Mountain Lion seems to eat more RAM than any other OS I've used. [...] Does anyone know if there are hacks or something to add more RAM? I'm sort of blown away that the biggest and best machine they had at the time would max out at 8. It's not that old!
    It doesn't look like you can fit more than 8GB -- check out here OWC MaxRAM Memory Certification - Max out your Mac's Memory

    Out of interest: is it actually using more memory overall, or is it keeping more in physical memory and doing less swapping to disc?

    Eloise

  16. #266
    Newbie Objectionist wgscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Gondwana
    Posts
    8,479
    Blog Entries
    40
    It allocates memory differently, so it makes it appear to be using more. (It does use more, but 8 gig is more than enough unless you are running photoshop on huge image files or something.)
    Living Room: 2012 i7 Mac mini --> Halide Bridge-->Peachtree Nova --> Class D Audio 254 X 2 --> B&W CM7R + Rel R218
    (iTunes | Audirvana | BitPerfect | Decibel ) & Dirac
    iTunes on remote computer controls Audirvana on server

    Home Office: 2007 iMac --> Vanatoo powered speakers (iTunes | Audirvana | BitPerfect | Decibel )

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Señor, señor, let's disconnect these cables
    Overturn these tables
    This place don't make sense to me no more.

  17. #267
    Junior Member bleedink's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, CA USA
    Posts
    845
    Quote Originally Posted by Audio_ELF View Post
    It doesn't look like you can fit more than 8GB -- check out here OWC MaxRAM Memory Certification - Max out your Mac's Memory

    Out of interest: is it actually using more memory overall, or is it keeping more in physical memory and doing less swapping to disc?

    Eloise
    Wow. I guess at the time 8GB seemed to be overkill, but I don't seem to remember running out of memory quite so fast before this OS. I just upgraded to an SSD a couple months ago and that definitely helps. To answer your question, under a normal load (when one program isn't taking the entire 8) it looks to me as if ML is not paging. Which is a good thing! Thanks. I really hadn't thought of that. It appears that it's doing a better job of not relying on the HDD to page, keeping everything in memory. It could be that there are still a couple apps that are leaking RAM. So on one hand, it's doing a better job--but if you have an errant app acting up it can eat the remainder up fast. I am using freemem to help free the inactive memory, but I do find myself coming up against the physical wall of RAM more often than I am comfortable with-in fact I am experiencing some of the same things that made me upgrade to 8 in the first place. It does appear that ML is good at keeping more stuff in RAM--I just apparently don't have enough! And you're right--I am using desktop publishing tools and photoshop more often than not. These actually fare better than say Chrome with 8 tabs open! Heh, I remember when I bought the RAM thinking there's no WAY anyone would ever need that much memory! 8GB! I can take over the world! (2 years later I feel a bit more impotent!) I now realize I need more than copious amounts of RAM for worldwide domination.
    Macbook Pro 2010->DLNA/UPNP fed by Drobo->Oppo BDP-93->Yamaha RXV2065 ->Panasonic GT25 -> 5.0 system Bowers & Wilkins 683 towers, 685 surrounds, HTM61 center ->Mostly SPDIF, or Analog out. Some HDMI depending on source[br]Selling Art Is Tying Your Ego To A Leash And Walking It Like A DoG[br]

  18. #268
    Arizona Son mwheelerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    2,589
    Blog Entries
    1
    Has anyone gone to 10.8.2 yet?
    Mac Mini OSX 10.9 with (2) Lacie Quadra 2TB HDD > iTunes 11 with Audivrana or JRiver Media Center For Mac > Bel Canto C5i > Focal Chorus 714V

    JRemote> Apple Remote app > Screens VNC app

  19. #269
    Senior Member REShaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    4,134
    Quote Originally Posted by mwheelerk View Post
    Has anyone gone to 10.8.2 yet?
    Yes.
    Best,
    Richard
    Software: OS X Mavericks, iTunes, Amarra Symphony & iRC, Audirvana Plus+, BitPerfect & DSD Master, Decibel, Fidelia, Pure Music; Computer: Mac Mini (2011, 2.7 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo i7, 16GB, int. SSD 256GB); Video: 27" Cinema Thunderbolt Display; Storage: Promise Pegasus 12TB R6 Raid 5 & 8TB R4 Raid 5; Digital: Oppo BDP-95; Wyred 4 Sound DAC-2 DSDse & Femto Grade Clock Mod; Atlona AT-HD577; Preamplification: Wyred 4 Sound STP-SE Stage 2; Amplification: W4S SX1000 (x2); Bryston 10B Sub LR 50Hz, 24dB/Octave/2-way active crossover; Speakers: KEF Reference 107; JL Audio F112 x 2 set to mono on Sound Anchor stands; KEF X300A on Sound Anchor stands; Cables: Light Harmonic LightSpeed USB (standard); Synergistic Research: Active SE USB, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference & Precision Reference XLR ICs, Tesla LE Acoustic Reference speaker cables, Tesla LE Subwoofer 2 cables, Tranqility Base, QLS9 & T2 power cable; Black Cat Veloce 75 ohm; DH Lab Silver HDMI 1.4; W4S P1 Ultra Power cables; DH Labs Power Plus AC Cable; Shunyata Venom 3. Pioneer BDR-208.

  20. #270
    Freshman Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    57
    Yes.

    It may be just my imagination/wishful thinking, but I immediately noticed an improvement in sound quality.

  21. #271

    Ml sq

    Quote Originally Posted by Rambaud View Post
    Yes.

    It may be just my imagination/wishful thinking, but I immediately noticed an improvement in sound quality.
    Actually, I was just about to post a question on this thread about this...good timing!

    How have people who've upgraded describe the SQ differences on ML (if any)? A step up? A notch down? And with which players?

    Thanks!
    T

  22. #272
    Señor Member Jud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Born in Bethlehem (PA)
    Posts
    5,833
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by bleedink View Post
    Wow. I guess at the time 8GB seemed to be overkill, but I don't seem to remember running out of memory quite so fast before this OS.

    * * *

    And you're right--I am using desktop publishing tools and photoshop more often than not. These actually fare better than say Chrome with 8 tabs open! Heh, I remember when I bought the RAM thinking there's no WAY anyone would ever need that much memory! 8GB! I can take over the world! (2 years later I feel a bit more impotent!) I now realize I need more than copious amounts of RAM for worldwide domination.
    Sounds like Chrome has a memory leak, because I agree you shouldn't need anything like that much memory. Try Opera, Safari, Firefox, see what happens.
    The fairest thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the fundamental emotion which stands at the cradle of true art and true science. - Einstein
    One never knows, do one? - Fats Waller

    MacBook Pro w/SSD, music and Audirvana Plus on RAMdisks -> Mapleshade Clearlink USB Plus -> Semi-customized DAC (for detail see http://www.computeraudiophile.com/blogs/jud/ ) -> Spectral DMC-12 & DMA-150 -> Vandersteen 3A Signature. Cabling: Omega Mikro/Mapleshade

  23. #273
    Newbie Objectionist wgscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Gondwana
    Posts
    8,479
    Blog Entries
    40
    ....
    Quote Originally Posted by wgscott View Post
    It allocates memory differently, so it makes it appear to be using more. (It does use more, but 8 gig is more than enough unless you are running photoshop on huge image files or something.)
    Living Room: 2012 i7 Mac mini --> Halide Bridge-->Peachtree Nova --> Class D Audio 254 X 2 --> B&W CM7R + Rel R218
    (iTunes | Audirvana | BitPerfect | Decibel ) & Dirac
    iTunes on remote computer controls Audirvana on server

    Home Office: 2007 iMac --> Vanatoo powered speakers (iTunes | Audirvana | BitPerfect | Decibel )

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Señor, señor, let's disconnect these cables
    Overturn these tables
    This place don't make sense to me no more.

  24. #274
    Generalist, Craftsman Daudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Detroit Metro
    Posts
    572
    Quote Originally Posted by wgscott View Post
    ....
    Bill, Your posts tend to be very terse (and often context free), but this is ridiculous !
    More signal, less noise, please.

    Dave A; Audirvana+/iTunes on 2010 Mac Mini, USB to Benchmark HGC, balanced to MOSFET amps, to Electrostatics and subs, cables: yes

  25. #275
    Sophomore Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    415
    .
    Quote Originally Posted by Daudio View Post
    Bill, Your posts tend to be very terse (and often context free), but this is ridiculous!
    If memory serves, allocation is use.

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 789101112 LastLast

Tags for this Thread