Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Audirvana+ review by TAS

    In their new "Guide to Affordable Audio", TAS reviews Audirvana (without revealing which version specifically). Overall the review is very positive, although I was a bit surprised by the following quote:

    "Sonically I found Audirvana Plus to be equalto both Amarra and Pure Music. In matched-level A/B listening sessions of Red Book 44.1/16files, the differences among the three programswere minor and not reliably attributable solelyto software. On higher-resolution files I quicklydeveloped a preference for Audirvana Plus dueto its ergonomic ease, but once more sonicdifferences were harder to reliably identify.The only thing that was clear was that all threeprograms are substantially more transparentthan iTunes."

    Further down in the article, interestingly enough TAS claims you can rip SACDs with an external blue ray drive. I'd be interested to see how they achieve that, by the way.


    iMac late 2009 8GB > Audirvana+/Amarra > Audioquest Forest USB > BelCanto mlink > Atlas Ascent BNC > Exposure 2010S2 Dac > Audioquest King Cobra > Exposure 3010S2 Integrated > Chord Carnival Classic > B&W CM8

  2. #2
    Senior Member Superdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mariposa, California
    Posts
    1,915
    So they can't hear any differences between any of the players? Maybe the review was written by Archimago!

    Makes me wonder about their systems/rooms/ears/source material. Sheesh...

  3. #3
    Senior Member Blake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    SLC, UT "greatest snow on earth"
    Posts
    1,351
    When Steven Stone of TAS reviewed the Bel Canto s/pdif converter range in May 7, 2013 online issue of TAS, in his list of associated equipment, it includes "Audirana Plus 1.35" and "OS 10.6.7" on his Mac. Hmmmmm........

    Makes you wonder about the quality of any TAS review of A+.
    MacBook Pro ​2012, i7, 16gb(Audirvana) > TotalDac D1 usb cable & filter > | Berkeley Alpha USB > Siltech HF-9 > | Bel Canto DAC 2.5 > Siltech Anniversary 220i > | Jeff Rowland Capri ​preamp > Siltech Anniversary 220i > | Blue Circle Audio BC202 amp > MG Audio Planus III > | Revel Ultima Gem ​speakers | 2 x Revel Performa3 B112 subwoofers | Sablon Gran Corona power cords

    Headphone Setup: Sources listed above, then... > Dennis Had (founder of Cary Audio) Dragon Inspire IHA-1 headphone amp (Sophia Electric 274b rectifier tube + pair of NOS Sylvania 6bx7) > Beyerdynamic T1 and Fostex TH900 cans.

  4. #4
    Masters Level Member Paul.Raulerson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sgr A*
    Posts
    8,411
    Blog Entries
    4
    Any idea who wrote the article? I dropped my subscription to them because they could not find a way to renew my subscription at the $15/year rate they have consistently offered before, and wanted me to pay $36. Or go to the web page and sign up for a "new subscription!"

    Gads- talk about a magazine heading downhill...
    1. Main Music: AIFF Library -> Mac Mini i5 (Late 2012) -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC 19 -> Kimber USB -> iFi USB Power -> iFi Gemini -?> iFi DSD Micro -> Kimber PJB -> Parasound 2200 Preamp -> Kimber PJB -> Outlaw Audio M2200 Monoblocks -> Nodost Flatline MKII Speaker cables -> Large Advents
    2. Bedroom -> Macbook Pro -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC19 -> Audioquest Cinnamon USB -> Wavelength Proton> NAD BEE326 -> Nordost Flatline MKII -> Baby Advents
    3. Office -> Experimental System, changes when I want it to.



  5. #5
    When reviewing software applications properly identifying the specific version being reviewed is essential, without doing that any comparative review is essentially useless.
    Mac Mini, Audirvana Plus, Audiophilleo 2, Metrum Hex NOS DAC, Pass Labs INT-30A Amplifier, B&W 802 Diamond Speakers, Shotgun Bi-wire Kimber 4TC Cables. Headphone setup: Burson Soloist Amp, Audeze LCD-3 Headphones.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul.Raulerson View Post
    Any idea who wrote the article? I dropped my subscription to them because they could not find a way to renew my subscription at the $15/year rate they have consistently offered before, and wanted me to pay $36. Or go to the web page and sign up for a "new subscription!"

    Gads- talk about a magazine heading downhill...
    The review is signed by Steven Stone.

    And by the way, you still get the subscription for $12 if you do online PDF/ipad only.
    iMac late 2009 8GB > Audirvana+/Amarra > Audioquest Forest USB > BelCanto mlink > Atlas Ascent BNC > Exposure 2010S2 Dac > Audioquest King Cobra > Exposure 3010S2 Integrated > Chord Carnival Classic > B&W CM8

  7. #7
    Masters Level Member Paul.Raulerson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sgr A*
    Posts
    8,411
    Blog Entries
    4
    Well - Stone is usually pretty honest about his opinions, so he probably did not hear much of any difference, though that does surprise me a bit.

    PDF/iPad edition is not worth even $12 to me- I far prefer the print copy.

    -Paul

    Quote Originally Posted by Musicophile View Post
    The review is signed by Steven Stone.

    And by the way, you still get the subscription for $12 if you do online PDF/ipad only.
    1. Main Music: AIFF Library -> Mac Mini i5 (Late 2012) -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC 19 -> Kimber USB -> iFi USB Power -> iFi Gemini -?> iFi DSD Micro -> Kimber PJB -> Parasound 2200 Preamp -> Kimber PJB -> Outlaw Audio M2200 Monoblocks -> Nodost Flatline MKII Speaker cables -> Large Advents
    2. Bedroom -> Macbook Pro -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC19 -> Audioquest Cinnamon USB -> Wavelength Proton> NAD BEE326 -> Nordost Flatline MKII -> Baby Advents
    3. Office -> Experimental System, changes when I want it to.



  8. #8
    Senior Member Blake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    SLC, UT "greatest snow on earth"
    Posts
    1,351
    I do enjoy Steven Stone's reviews. It is quite likely that he is not aware of all the A+ updates. As Steven was using A+ 1.3.5 just last month (with Snow Leopard), I think it safe to assume that was the version of A+ he reviewed. Of course this renders his review of A+ obsolete.

    OT: Paul- my print subscription to TAS is about to run out. I am only interested in the print version. Is there any way around the premium rate charged to existing subscribers? What if you signed up using one of the TAS magazine insert cards with the lower rate, but listed your spouse/child/relative as the subscriber?
    MacBook Pro ​2012, i7, 16gb(Audirvana) > TotalDac D1 usb cable & filter > | Berkeley Alpha USB > Siltech HF-9 > | Bel Canto DAC 2.5 > Siltech Anniversary 220i > | Jeff Rowland Capri ​preamp > Siltech Anniversary 220i > | Blue Circle Audio BC202 amp > MG Audio Planus III > | Revel Ultima Gem ​speakers | 2 x Revel Performa3 B112 subwoofers | Sablon Gran Corona power cords

    Headphone Setup: Sources listed above, then... > Dennis Had (founder of Cary Audio) Dragon Inspire IHA-1 headphone amp (Sophia Electric 274b rectifier tube + pair of NOS Sylvania 6bx7) > Beyerdynamic T1 and Fostex TH900 cans.

  9. #9
    Just had another look at the article and noticed that on the screenshot the little INT icon doesn't show. So he must have been using either a pre-integer mode version or a non integer compatible DAC.
    iMac late 2009 8GB > Audirvana+/Amarra > Audioquest Forest USB > BelCanto mlink > Atlas Ascent BNC > Exposure 2010S2 Dac > Audioquest King Cobra > Exposure 3010S2 Integrated > Chord Carnival Classic > B&W CM8

  10. #10
    Masters Level Member Paul.Raulerson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sgr A*
    Posts
    8,411
    Blog Entries
    4
    OT: I expect you can sign up as a "new" subscriber at the discounted rate. That really burns my chops though- people like me who have subscribed for years are not important enough to offer a discounted rate to, unless I become a "new subscriber" again.

    No customer loyalty there at all- I honestly do not think the arrogant so and so running subscriptions even cares if anyone renews their subscription or not. Must not care about retention - probably only use new subscriptions as a metric or something like that.
    1. Main Music: AIFF Library -> Mac Mini i5 (Late 2012) -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC 19 -> Kimber USB -> iFi USB Power -> iFi Gemini -?> iFi DSD Micro -> Kimber PJB -> Parasound 2200 Preamp -> Kimber PJB -> Outlaw Audio M2200 Monoblocks -> Nodost Flatline MKII Speaker cables -> Large Advents
    2. Bedroom -> Macbook Pro -> MacOS Mavericks -> JRMC19 -> Audioquest Cinnamon USB -> Wavelength Proton> NAD BEE326 -> Nordost Flatline MKII -> Baby Advents
    3. Office -> Experimental System, changes when I want it to.